A Sneak Peak At Summer

Hello friends,

Many of you live where the winter’s been quite insistent, and I’ve noticed that you are longing for warmer days.  So, here on Leisure Lane, to help bring in the long awaited warmer season, I’m featuring a delightful poem by my dear and talented friend, Brenda.  She was inspired to write it from a question she read in a magazine.  Perhaps it will bring back some memories for you, too.  EnJoy!

I Remember When

I remember when the only thing I ever
wore all summer was a swimsuit. My favorite
was of leopard print made by my best friend’s
mother, whom I called “Mama Dot.”

That seemed to be my only worry during
those summer months; which one should I wear;
a one piece or two?  The colors were beautiful,
the prints were simple, and the water was cool.

I was excited to learn to swim and to “jack knife”
from the diving board. My best was the “Swan Dive!”
Parading around with youth on my side and
not a worry in my heart or soul.

I look back on those days and wish that life
now could be more of a simplistic means.
Being able to have a young, youthful figure,
and no worries other than what swimsuit to wear.

 

Brenda Lynn Stevens
Copyright © 2011

 

Perhaps now, you’re inspired to write a  poem, too.  If you do, please share it with us. You can write it in with your comment.

Don’t forget to stop by Tuesday, March 1st, for the teacup note card tutorial.

Also, I have another shop!  It’s called “My Little Bloomin’ Shop”.   This shop features more of my artistic projects, one-of-a-kind gifts, and fun things.  It is now opened for business, so come in.  Click here or on the shop name in header.

As always, thank you for visiting, and I look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

Note:  Thank you http://arestlessgypsy.blogspot.com for the above vintage photo.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 00:11:37

    Hi Marianne,

    Thank you for sharing the beautiful poem from your dear friend Brenda, and i love the pin up photo too! I came from a tropical country where it’s summer all year round and i found out now how i long for my hot tropical climate when i moved to england, i realized 3 years ago when i had my first winter here that i’ve taken my hot climate for granted, not only I miss my family and friends in Indonesia but I also miss my hot climate there!! Thanks for sharing and I wont miss Tuesday for your tutorial!!!!! can’t hardly wait! Blessings, Susan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

