Wedgwood Wednesday

Happy Wednesday, dear friends,

It’s still the love month, so today I am showing a lovely little heart-shaped piece.  This 2 1/2″ heart box is perfect for keeping small treasures, like this pretty pearl necklace or a a pair of earrings;  perhaps even a love note or two.  I’ll never tell.

You can see the detail on the top of the box as well as the accent detail on the bottom side.  Don’t forget to click on the images to see a closer look.

All of my pieces were given to me by my former husband, except a set of earrings and matching cameo (which I will feature at a later date), and this beautiful powder compact (below).

This compact was given to me by my late mother-in-law.  She found it at a garage sale for about $3.00!!  It had never been used as far as she or I could tell.

The original powder applicator and mesh are still inside.  It was made by Stratton in England, and you can see the name of the company on the applicator as well as on the back of the compact.  The center metal ring opens up so you can pull out the mesh and refill with powder.  An unusual, yet lovely piece.

I hope you enjoyed these Wedgwood pieces, and if you have any Wedgwood beauties that you would like to share, please leave a comment on this post so we can click over to your site and view them.

Thank you for visiting me.  I look forward to seeing you again.  Until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

Note:  If anyone is interested in owning a Wedgwood powder compact by Stratton, there are some being sold on ebay.  I actually found one with the same lid as mine – a lady charioteer.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 13:52:02

    B., thank you for visiting, and for the Wedgwood names…very interesting. Now when I see them, they’ll have more meaning. Come back anytime.

    Best wishes,
    Marianne

    Like

    Reply

  2. bjoerncologne
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 10:21:35

    If you are interested in the names / subjects of the reliefs: ‘The Three Graces’ (heart box) and ‘Aurora in her Chariot’ (compact). Nice items! Best, b.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 08:33:59

    how beautiful!! i love blue color and those are so lovely, I havent owned any wedgwood yet but once i do i will share it in my blog 🙂 I love the pearl and the detail on the wedgwood, I cant wait to see the earring and the cameo, must be as lovely! Thanks so much for your lovely and kind words on my blog, yes I do love children so much, me and my husband are still trying to have one 🙂 it’s a bit sad sometimes when i get together with my friends and they’re bringing their children/babies and i dont, I did however love to fuss them and play with them alot while the mothers are busy gossipping hehehe, they sometimes asked me to watch over them if they wanted to go shopping and needed to go to the fitting room hehe…they say i come in handy hahaha…..on the knitting part, my mother in law taught me when i first came to england 3 years ago, she’s very kind coz she doesn’t want me to feel lonely in this country and have something to do to keep me busy so i dont feel homesick :). I wish you a wonderfull day full of blessings! (Hugssss)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

