Wedgwood Wednesday

Hello, friends,

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  Well as some of you remember I thought I would show you my Wedgwood collection during the month of February.  But as you can plainly see, February is getting quite away from me.

Romeo and Juliet

So to start, here are three beautiful, limited edition, Valentine plates which were issued beginning in 1991.  My birthday is on St. Valentine’s Day, so my husband, looking for a nice gift, went to a wonderful store in Houston where they sold beautiful items.  They happened to carry Wedgwood, and there he found the Romeo and Juliet plate.  It had just come out and was the first in the Valentine series.

Antony and Cleopatra

Helen and Paris

The next year he gave me the Antony and Cleopatra, and the third year gave me the Helen and Paris plate.  He also bought me other fine pieces of Wedgwood which I will share with you at another time.  Aren’t the plates lovely?

The detail around the borders is very pretty with all the little cupids, hearts, flowers, etc.  These are a treasure, not only because they are Wedgwood, but because they were given with thought and love.

The backs of the plates describe what they are.

If you have any Wedgwood that you would like to share, I would love to see it.  Just leave a comment on this post, so I can click over to see yours.

Please forgive the photos…it’s a very dark, stormy day here today, and the lighting left much to be desired.  Not to mention I am in a rush because I have to go to the job today.

I hope you’ve enjoyed viewing these Valentine plates.  I will share more Wedgwood with you next week.  Until then, may happy days abound.

Marianne

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 21:21:03

    Hi Marianne,

    I just love your collection of wedgwood, the romeo and juliet plate is lovely as well as the others, I am so jealous! hehe…anyways, Happy Birthday dan Happy Valentine’s day to you!! you have such a wonderful husband and you have a wonderful treasure, thanks for sharing the treasures and GOD BLESS YOU!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Rella
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 23:02:18

    What gorgeous pieces. the blue is so soft….and oh the tea poem…so sweet. Thank you for sharing such loveliness.

    Wishing you joy ~ Rella

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

