Teamug Treasure

Hello dear friends,

Welcome to Leisure Lane.  I’m very glad to be able to join you today for Teacup Tuesday, sponsored by those lovely ladies, Terri and Martha.

Well, as you may remember from last week, I mentioned that I was running out of traditional teacups, but  that I had a special item to share with you.  This is my tea-mug treasure, given to me by my son, Robert, on Mother’s Day, nearly 14 years ago.  He was 7 years old at the time ~ the same age as in the photograph.

It came in a kit with special crayons with which to decorate the ceramic mug, then you pop it into the oven to cure (I’m sure dad helped him with that part).  How surprised and happy I was to receive this.

I think one of the things that makes this cup so special to me, is the thought that he put into it when he decorated it.  To celebrate my love of art, he drew a paint brush, canvas with paint on it, an easel, and a brush and palette, as well as his sweet hearts, rainbow, and affectionate words to celebrate his love for me.  What mother would not cherish such a gift.

As you can see, some of the decorations and his signature have faded from use.  So to preserve the memory from fading, I don’t use it anymore to drink from, but rather keep it on a shelf in my kitchen where I can see it everyday, and smile.

Robert is now 21 years old and in college.  It seems a lifetime ago when he presented me, not only the with cup, but with his very self.  He added a light to my life which no words can express, and I thank God for him everyday.

Thank you for letting me share this with you.  I hope you enjoyed it.  While looking for something in my closet I came across another teatime darling that I think you will all enjoy.  I forgot all about it.   It seems, sometimes, that my life is packed away.  I look forward to sharing it with you next week.

Ta-ta for now, and until next time, may happy days abound.

Marianne

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 09:01:59

    that is indeed a precious treasure a son could give to his mother, handmade by himself and you still keep it after all these years! im so touched reading this post, thanks for sharing it and thanks for dropping by my blog…yes here is England, we’re getting ready for spring…i must say I cant wait for it! have a wonderful day!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Brenda
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 21:13:44

    What a great treasure! Not only a gift at that time, but a memory forever. I miss my boy being that little. And I’m sure you do, too…

    Like

    Reply

  3. fitty
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 10:07:45

    above all the teacups we shared here in blogsville, this teacup is the precious treasure of all! Wonderful mug and precious!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Martha's Favorites!
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 06:09:06

    Hi: That is the most beautiful cup. A treasure for sure. You are a lucky lady. Blessings, Martha

    Like

    Reply

  5. Penny
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 22:14:54

    Wonderful mug with wonderful memories to cherish.

    Hugs,
    Penny

    Like

    Reply

  6. Terri
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:58:12

    I think this is the most precious cup of the day! There is nothing more valuable than a child’s love. Such a sweet memory cup you have here.
    I have one similar and I do not wash it anymore either.
    Thank you so much for sharing your touching post.
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  7. Libbie
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 19:40:17

    I was so surprised to read he was 21! I pictured him just like the picture behind the mug! I love how you photographed it with that picture! What a special gift!!! Thanks for sharing it with us all!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

