The Swans Swim So Bonny O

Hello, dear friends,

I would like to offer you a glimpse of a very deep part of me.  Last evening I was reminiscing through some of my files, and I came across a painting I had done some years ago, inspired by a beautiful song by Loreena McKennitt called “The Bonny Swans”.  My oil paintings were always created to music; usually a song which exemplified the meaning or the tone of the painting.

Of course finding the painting, led me to some of Loreena’s videos, and I was newly enchanted again.  Her music awakened, or at least rekindled a sentinel spark within me that just cannot find the sustenance to flourish working at a grocery store. I cried, but only for a moment, remembering that beautiful spirit within me that I thought was long gone; or worse, sent away.   (The same feeling I had when I finished the painting “Erdgeist“, a spiritual self-portrait, that I may share with you another time).  But there she was, huddled deep within only needing the proper nourishment. Though I must admit I am a bit afraid to nourish her too much, for once she is stronger and feels like herself again, where could she go?  What could she do?  Then again, perhaps if I would let go of fear and revive her completely, she could perform her purpose for existing.

The Bonny Swans is about jealously, treachery, and true love.  I chose the second verse to illustrate; where the youngest sister begs for the helping hand of her hardened sibling.  The middle sister interacts with the swans, perhaps and hopefully, unaware of the eldest sister’s enacted plot.  The castle looms above in the background in clear sight, that if it weren’t for the distance, the crime could be seen by all there.  The cattails along the water’s brim are symbolic of the reason for the act, and the guilty sister wraps her cloak tightly around her in her resolve.   Here is a link to a video of the song.  And you might enjoy clicking on some other songs…her music will take you altogether to a different place.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsNJuhBfbPg

Loreena McKennitt, in my opinion, is talented beyond my vocabulary.  She wrote the The Bonny Swans, based on an old Celtic story.  She is inspired by stories, poems, and her own interpretation of life, and expresses that interpretation exquisitely through words and music.  I think that perhaps somehow we are kindred spirits, because we seem to be attracted to the same things.  I was very much moved by a poem from Yeats called “The Stolen Child”, and painted my interpretation of it.  I found out that she had also been inspired by that poem, and put it to music. After becoming intrigued by the history and roamings of the Celts, she began a journey “in their footsteps”, which took her, surprisingly, to exotic parts of the world, like Turkey.  In all her travels she is inspired by the music, instruments, and interrelation of cultures.  She is an extensive traveler who journals her experiences through song.

Thank you for taking a little walk down memory lane with me.  If this has been thought provoking or inspiring for you, or if you have any questions, please let me know.  I always like hearing from you.

Don’t forget to vote on your favorite Valentine Fairy on the January 5th, 2011 post.  Today is the last day to cast your ballot.

Until next time, may happy days abound,

Marianne

The above painting is titled “The Bonny Swans” inspired by the song of the same title by Loreena Mckennitt.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KathyB.
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:27:00

    I forgot to mention that I listen to Loreena’s music while I weave and when I need inspiration for a project I also listen to her music.

    Like

    Reply

  2. KathyB.
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:21:12

    Oh I am so excited to see after reading your Tea Time Tuesday Post and perusing your blog to find this! Paintings inspired by Loreena McKennit’s music. She is my all time, and long time favorite musician. I love all her music and own CD’s of all but her latest CD and that will soon be remedied.

    My husband and I attended one of her Seattle Concerts and anyone having the opportunity to attend her in concert should. You wil not be disappointed~

    Your art is beautiful, and inspired.

    Like

    Reply

    • Marianne
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 14:57:22

      Kathy, thank you…I have never seen Loreena in concert, but I have heard that it is an amazing experience. I don’t have her latest CD, either, so let me know when you get it and what you think.

      Like

      Reply

  3. mo
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 13:37:32

    Your painting is beautiful. You are very talented. Thank you for visiting “Rose Petals from Heaven”. *hugs*

    Like

    Reply

  4. Marianne
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 17:06:15

    Thank you, Bonnie. I hope to see you at Leisure Lane again, soon.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Bonnie
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:25:30

    I love leisurelane ! Such a beautiful place.Thank you for giving us this joyful artwork.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

