A Friendship Garden

Hello Friends,

I’d like to share a card I made for my dear friend, Karen, in San Antonio, Texas.  I haven’t seen her for quite some years now since she moved.  We talk at least once a week, not as often as we used to, and I miss her very much.  I decided to make her a special card.

The yellow ‘daffodils’ are from a painting sketch I did a while back, and I built up from there.  I wanted it to resemble a garden…she loves gardens.

The tiny bit of left over lace reminded me of a pretty fence.  And I added some three dimensional flowers to give it more texture and dimension.  The little blue butterfly’s wings are actually away from the paper in flight and the flight “tail wind” is made with left over slivers of paper I had trimmed away from another piece of paper.

I liked making the wings flutter with my fingers…It’s the child in me.

Another angle to see the flowers better.  I now wish I had added a bit of glitter to it to add a little sparkle.

The inside.  Oops, I might have forgotten to erase the pencil lines…☺…

“From Seeds of Love…a friendship garden grows”

I hope you enjoyed your visit here at Leisure Lane, and I hope it gave you a chance to relax and breathe in a bit of love and friendship.

Until next time, may happy days abound!

Marianne

copyright©2012 Marianne Coyne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 03:13:03

    Love it. Such great ideas and I love your comment about making the wings flutter . . . that’s part of the novelty of the card for sure. I betcha Karen enjoys her card! (And, I was reminded of your novella with the intro . . . friends/distance)

    Like

    Reply

  2. thelittleleaf
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 21:12:35

    Beautiful card, I love this!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 07:55:38

    Your skills are just wonderful sweetie the card is so beautiful 🙂 take care.

    Bee happy x

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lynn at Cottage and Creek
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 01:35:02

    What a thoughtful card, Marianne. Karen will treasure it, I’m sure. I’m glad to see your creative juices are flowing freely. I’m itching to get some sewing going but still feel too bogged down with other responsibilities. I hope you’re feeling well and enjoying your summer.
    Blessings and love,
    Lynn

    Like

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 23:38:14

    Hello Marianne,
    Your card is just beautiful! I think you did create a lovely garden scene…and the lace really does look like a fence. Brilliant! Your friend is going to be very delighted!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

    Reply

  6. Linda Adams
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:34:13

    Hi Marianne, Your card is beautiful! I’m sure your friend will cherish it. Joyous Wishes, Linda

    Like

    Reply

  7. KatherinesDaughter
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:18:17

    Hi Marianne, What a pretty card! I’m sure your friend will love it. How sweet…xo Joanne

    Like

    Reply

  8. Vicki
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:50:50

    Hi, Marianne,
    I know your friend will love that sweet card. You put a lot of love into it and it shows!! I love the lace you used for the fence and the three dimensional butterfly, perfect!! Have a happy week, my friend~ Vicki

    Like

    Reply

  9. Yvette
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:42:03

    Lovely card, we’re only just seeing daffodils out now. Our Spring weather is starting early with lovely sunny days already. Your friend Karen, will certainly love this friendship card.And will bring sunshine to her day! Have a lovely day! Yx

    Like

    Reply

  10. lynne
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:18:54

    Marianne this is beautiful and so special considering the flowers have been painted by you.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

    Reply

  11. Florence
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 19:37:20

    Hi Marianne. Such a beautiful card. Your friend Karen will love it.
    Regards Florence x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment